MKT Train Depot
The MKT Train Depot is open from 12 p.m. – 2 p.m. the first Saturday and Sunday of each month to display an ever-increasing number of working miniature train sets.
It has been more than two decades since MKT trains ran along the route that’s now the Katy Trail. But you can still experience railroad history all along the trail, through several preserved train cars, depots restored to their original splendor, and other vestiges of the railroading past that can be found along the trail.
The MKT Depot, located on Main and Katy, was originally built about 1910; however, rail service in the area began before that. By 1904, the MKT railroad service had made its way to the area and during the 1920s, nine freight and four passenger cars stopped in Hominy each day. Oil and cattle were frequently shipped via the railroads during that time, as pipelines for oil and large trucks for the transport of cattle were not readily available.
The train continued to run through the area until 1977 and even after most of the tracks were taken up, the depot still stands and serves as the home to the Chamber of Commerce. Outside, on a stretch of the original tracks, sits a red caboose sporting the MKT logo on the side.
The train route went from Tulsa and to the Osage through Sand Springs and Hominy.
300 West Main, Hominy, Oklahoma